End of Year Book Survey 2016

2016-end-of-year-book-survey

Perpetual Page Turner is the book blog that starts this end-of-year book survey and I’m very happy to fill it out. Unfortunately, 2016 was not my best reading year compared to 2015. I still read a substantial number of books, but in 2015 I was blown away by my reading number. I cut out some questions because it was getting a little too long.

2016 Reading Stats 

Number Of Books You Read: 33

Number of Re-Reads: 0. I’m not a re-read type of person.

Genre You Read The Most From Graphic novels, only because this genre doesn’t take me that long to read.

Best in Books 

1. Best Book You Read In 2016?

Luckiest Girl Alive

Luckiest Girl Alive by Jessica Knoll is my pick. Initially, I thought I wouldn’t like this book because the main character was miserable to be around. However, once I read more of her backstory, I started to sympathize with her. The main character is different by the end of the book and she starts focusing on her happiness and dreams.

2. Book You Were Excited About & Thought You Were Going To Love More But Didn’t?

Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins. Every book blogger could not stop raving about this book. I read it and I was not impressed. The fact that St. Clair kept doing shady things with Anna behind his girlfriend’s back was not romantic and ruined it for me.

3. Most surprising (in a good way or bad way) book you read?

Operation Stop Hate

Operation Stop Hate by Jessie Chandler. This book was intriguing because it analyzed a hate group that was based in Minneapolis. There were parts that I read that I was angry with because this group was just awful in general. It saddens me that people in the world truly believe this way. This book was really well written and I’m on the lookout for more in the series.


4. Best series you started in 2016? Best Sequel of 2016? Best Series Ender of 2016?

I read the entire Brilliance trilogy by Marcus Sakey. Overall, I liked the series.

6. Favorite new author you discovered in 2016?

Rainbow Rowell is my favorite author. I read more of her books in 2015, but I usually always love everything she writes.

7. Best book from a genre you don’t typically read/was out of your comfort zone?

Transgender 101 by Nicolas M Teich. I don’t typically read non-fiction novels, but I have always been interested in sexuality and gender. This book is informative and educational.

8. Most action-packed/thrilling/unputdownable book of the year?

Justice for Sara by Erica Spindler was a thrilling mystery. I discovered this book by browsing the mystery section at my local library. This book demonstrates how your family isn’t always the members related by blood.

9. Book You Read In 2016 That You Are Most Likely To Re-Read Next Year?

Nailbiter

Nailbiter Volume 1. SO GOOD.

10. Favorite cover of a book you read in 2016?

Firefight by Brandon Sanderson. The Steelheart series has the best book covers.

11. Most memorable character of 2016?

sex-criminals-volume-3

Suzie from Sex Criminals. Her plans are over the top and she’s devoted to saving her library from demolition. If Suzie existed in the real world, I feel that we would be best friends.

12. Most Thought-Provoking/ Life-Changing Book of 2016?

I Kill Giants by Joe Kelly. This graphic novel surprised me because I wasn’t expecting how it would turn out. I won’t spoil anything, but I liked Barbara as a character.

13. Best Book You Read In 2016 That You Read Based SOLELY On A Recommendation From Somebody Else/Peer Pressure:

Anna and the French Kiss…. and I really really didn’t like this book.
14. Book That Put A Smile On Your Face/Was The Most FUN To Read?

Zodiac Starforce

I read Zodiac Starforce and thought it was upbeat and nicely written. I liked the bright colors and all of the characters had their own strengths and personalities. Can’t wait for the second volume.

Blogging/Book Life 

1. New favorite book blog you discovered in 2016?

I always follow Super Space Chick for book reviews. I haven’t discovered a new book blog, but I like blogs that are broader versus writing something so specific.

2. Favorite review that you wrote in 2016?

crafting-with-feminism

Feminism Crafting Book. I’m not usually a crafty person, but when I was sent this book to review, I will admit throwing a crafting party added to the experience of writing the review. I made the empowering underwear that I’m still wearing.


3. Best event that you participated in (author signings, festivals, virtual events, memes, etc.)?

Minnesota Comic Book Association Spring Comic Con. I met Phil Juliano and I ended up supporting his Kickstarter campaign. This is a great con to do networking in the Minnesota Comic Scene so I’m glad I went.

4. Best moment of bookish/blogging life in 2016?

Met my goal of 30 for Goodreads, so that’s pretty good.

5. Most challenging thing about blogging or your reading life this year?

My biggest issue is that I want to read before I sleep, but sometimes after a long day, I just want to go to bed. I want to schedule a time to read before I reach that feeling of fatigue where all I can think about is sleep. I also would love to do more reading during the day instead of just at night.


6. Did you complete any reading challenges or goals that you had set for yourself at the beginning of this year?

I only use Goodreads because I like how organized the site is and how it keeps track of what I’m reading.

Looking Ahead

1. One Book You Didn’t Get To In 2016 But Will Be Your Number 1 Priority in 2017?

Finishing the Steelheart series and maybe doing a Harry Potter series re-read.

2. One Thing You Hope To Accomplish Or Do In Your Reading/Blogging Life In 2017? 

50 books are going to be my new goal for 2017.

5 thoughts on “End of Year Book Survey 2016

  1. Love this! Yup, the whole thing with Riri, the new Iron Man, was pretty awful. Funny, I’m a re-read person. Some of the books and comic books I have I’ve re-read them too many times xDDD

    Like

  2. I’ve found quite a few new books to add to my TBR from this post! 😀 Congrats on hitting your reading goal for last year, that’s awesome! I’m excited to write up more book reviews for my blog this year.

    Like

  3. Pingback: 2017 End of Book Survey | Bizarre Brunette

Leave a comment