Feel Savitar’s Wrath in Season #3 of the Flash

I was sitting at my desk in Sheehan Hall on the 9th floor watching the first episode of Arrow. I thought the premise sounded interesting since Green Arrow hasn’t had a lot of spotlight in cartoons or movies. Season #2 premiered the next year and that’s when nerdy Barry Allen appeared on the screen. Grant Gustin is the exact person I would have pictured for the Flash and I appreciated his lightness that he added to Oliver’s team. Soon after the CW announced the Flash spin off and I was all on board. Yesterday I was able to catch up on the Flash and I have to admit that season #3 was one hell of a season.

Barry Allen at the end of season #2 runs back in time to save his mom from the Reverse Flash. In the season #3 premiere, Barry is seen living a different life with both of his parents alive and trying to date Iris. Barry realizes his mistake when he feels his memories of his old life disappearing. His uneasiness makes him realize that he has to have his mom murdered to restore peace. As he goes back in time to stop himself from saving his mom, he returns to a future that’s completely different. Barry created an alternate reality existing on the same plane as his old reality. This is called Flashpoint which is a well respected Flash comic story complete with an animated movie. Savitar is an enemy that emerges along with his partner; Doctor Alchemy. To make things worse, Barry accidentally travels to the future and witnesses himself trying to save Iris from Savitar, but ends up watching her die by Savitar. Barry must try and alter the future to save Iris’s life or try and get faster so he can save her.

Savitar Image by Inverse

Savitar! Photo by Inverse.

SPOILERS STARTING NOW!

 

 

Killer Frost from Buddy TV

Killer Frost! Photo by Buddy TV.

So I wasn’t expecting Savitar to be a future time remnant of Barry Allen. I was surprised because I was expecting someone else in Barry’s life to play a role in betraying him. It all made sense though and it shows how much of a mistake it was for Barry to mess with time. Also I really like Caitlin’s transformation into Killer Frost. Her outfit is edgy without being too sexy and her powers are frightening especially after that vision of her freezing Cisco’s hands off in the future.

This season is my favorite one to date because there was so much at stake; I ended up binge watching 7 episodes on 4th of July. One thing I absolutely could not stand was that Barry at the end had to enter the speed force. Are you kidding me?? He can’t have at least one happy ending??! After finally saving Iris which was the whole point of the entire season, he can’t spend one moment with her. I was disappointed. 😦 I wonder how season #4 will explain how he reappears back in Star City.

My next show to catch up on will be Arrow because the boyfriend keeps telling me this past season was decent. Unfortunately, Legends of Tomorrow and Supergirl weren’t that appealing to me in their respective seasons. I cannot wait for fall TV to see how season #4 of the Flash will play out.

 

5 thoughts on “Feel Savitar’s Wrath in Season #3 of the Flash

  1. THIS COMMENT CONTAINS SPOILERS

    Zach and I watched the season as it came out. We had asked each other “who do you think it is?” … my immediate response was “Barry”. Zach thought it was Julian before we found out more about his “evil” role. When Caitlin turned into Killer Frost, my suspicion of Barry grew more because who else would she trust? I end up guessing plots really easily. I think they did an amazing job with the season.
    I guessed that something was going to go wrong for Iris and Barry, but I was definitely upset that he sacrificed himself basically.

    Like

  2. Pingback: “You Have Failed This City” Arrow Season #5 | Bizarre Brunette

Leave a Reply

