My Health Goals

Happy First Day of Spring! It was 61 degrees on my ride home from work in the late afternoon and it was a nice change of pace. I feel on cloud nine from this wonderful day outside. As I was contemplating what to blog about I realized that I don’t write about health or wellness on this blog. Usually I write about comics and books, video games and general posts about my life. Today I wanted to write something a little different and share my health goals.

*Side Note* I love my body. My body isn’t perfect, but I adore how I look. To some, this may sound vain, but it wasn’t until my 20’s where I felt at peace with my flaws. I struggled in high school with my body image (who doesn’t?) Now I feel calm looking at myself in the mirror and acknowledging that yes, those black skinny jeans look fabulous on me.

20% Body Fat.

Last time I had my body fat tested I was at 23.8%. This is not the same as losing weight. I don’t necessarily want to change the number on the scale, just modify how my body is composed. Gaining more muscle mass is always going to be a goal of mine because I want to lower the amount of body fat I have.

More Vegetables

I eat plenty of fruit in a day, but veggies? Not so much. I love red bell pepper, carrots, broccoli yet I don’t cook enough with veggies. I have a huge sweet tooth so sometimes vegetables aren’t appealing to me. I find that when I cook vegetables with olive oil and some pepper they’re good to eat. It’s difficult for me to eat veggies raw and if you can, good for you!

Yoga/Spiritual Exercise Once a Week

I have been slacking on yoga. My workout regime is about 3 days a week of cardio and 2 days of strength training. That leaves two days of active recovery. On one of those “days off” I want to add yoga or I want to attend a yoga class at my internship site. Yoga is extremely beneficial and I feel that I need to try harder to make this happen.

I’m at a good mindset where I can set these goals for myself without feeling insecure in my body. I’m grateful to have reached that place even though it took a while to get there. I would love to hear your health and wellness goals in the comments below.

17 thoughts on “My Health Goals

    • I wish as a society we would be more positive when it comes to our bodies. It took me a while to be at peace with my body and now I’m really happy. I have more fat on my body, but man I love my body and what it does for me. I hope that you find acceptance with your body and if you want to try and lower your body fat, go for it. Realize that you’re a beautiful human being no matter what! 🙂

      Like

      • Awwww, thanks. I’m more unhappy with the fact that I’m living unhealthily and that I need to move back into better choices. AND it’s frustrating when some of the body fat is due to medications -_-
        But, I definitely appreciate the kind words and the reminder. ❤ I wasn't trying to make my comment come off as negative. I was just meaning this used to be a goal that I was trying to achieve when I was pretty fit, and now, it's still an underlying goal, but it's not going to be the FIRST that I hit. (: BABY STEPS.

        Like

      • For some reason it wouldn’t let me reply to your most recent reply, so I just clicked reply up here, SORRY.

        But yes, I’m trying to remember there’s a lot of different factors because sometimes your mind can get all muddy, especially with mental health in there, and discouraged when it’s not all working (I hope that made sense).

        I hope everything works well for you too! ❤

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Maybe you should try a stir-fry for your veggie intake! If you make the sauce yourself, you can control the ingredients and make it healthy, but sweet and savory.
    I always tell myself to get back into yoga, too. I’m very reluctant to do the same things day in and day out. They begin to feel monotonous.

    Like

  2. Sounds like you’re doing amazing! I definitely need to increase my exercise. I’m still waiting for warm temps around here, but I know it will get much easier to fit more in when the weather is nice and I can be outside enjoying it! Unfortunately, it’s snowing again as I type this! XD

    Like

  3. I’ve slacked off with exercising for the past month ’cause I was dealing with a foot issue. But after it clears up, I’m definitely getting back on the yoga bandwagon. It looks like you have a great list of goals ahead. Best of luck! 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

