Was Gears of War 4 Unnecessary?

Oh Gears of War, I will pretty much spend money on every game in this series. I try and complete every campaign on insanity even if I feel like chucking my controller out the window. Marcus, Dom, Cole and Baird each had their unique personalities that turned them into an amazing team. When I heard Gears of War 4 was being developed, my initial thought was really, is this necessary? Honestly, I had a great time with this game, but I’m not certain if this needed to be created.

For those who aren’t a huge Gears of War fan, here is a brief overview of the games. Sera is the fictional planet that Gears takes place on. At the end of Gears of War 3, an imulsion countermeasure was released wiping out the Lambent and the Locust which are the evil creatures in the game. 25 years later, humanity has been effected heavily by this imulsion. Cities are walled-off to prevent the decline of humanity and “outsiders” are humans who oppose this action. J.D. Fenix (aka. Marcus’s son), Kait Diaz and Del Walker are apart of this group who travel between cities and violate all sorts of international laws.

Gears of War 4 Group

Kait, J.D. and Del (left to right)

As the group attempt to steal supplies from the C.O.G (which is the army that Marcus, Dom, Cole and Baird were apart of) they’re attacked by “the Swarm” a group of creatures that are clearly not human. The group tries to find Kait’s mother who was kidnapped by the creatures.

Kait.jpg

She’s my favorite. 

Phew that’s a lot of Gears knowledge to know, but that’s all of the basics. I will say that Kait is my favorite character of the group because she’s kick ass without being too sexual. The action sequences in this game were entertaining as I’m the person who enjoys hiding in a corner and sniping enemies while the boyfriend runs in and shoots things.

Gears of War 4 Swarm.jpg

Doesn’t he look cute. “The Swarm” 

After completing this game, I was rather irritated. I still have no idea what “the Swarm” is doing. Are they invading Sera? What brought them to the planet? I have no idea. I’m thinking this will be answered in later games, but I’m still annoyed.

Overall I enjoyed the game because I like the mechanics of the Gears games. So was this game necessary? Eh… maybe. As a Gears diehard fan, I liked it. I’m probably going to collect all the collectibles and beat it on insanity, but then I will consider myself done. Now that I’m done with Gears I can devote more time to play Overwatch because it’s fantastic.

 

9 thoughts on “Was Gears of War 4 Unnecessary?

  1. Thank you for the post! I’m in love with Gears of War as well (although I haven’t touched the campaign yet lol). As far as multiplayer I’m very happy with it, other than you know shooting blanks lol. I’m sure I’ll get around to the story but I like using Kait as well. In past Gears titles I always used Cole Train or Baird so using a new character is unfamiliar territory. Have a great weekend!

    -Luna 🙂

    Like

  2. Pingback: Mystery Blogger Award! – GamersUnitedGG Blog

  3. Finally got to your article! I feel the same way about the ending. It was frustrating to go through an entire campaign and feel like little was resolved. I understand that they are setting it up for more games (I hope), but in previous Gears they at least resolved the issue at hand before adding a cliffhanger. I also loved Kait’s character! Well developed and not overly sexualized. I want to learn more about all the newbies!

    Like

  4. Pingback: Mystery Blogger Award! | GamersUnitedGG Blog

Leave a Reply

