Super Girl

I’m a sucker for every CW DC comics TV show. I started watching Arrow my freshman year of college in my dorm room after classes. The first season wasn’t my favorite, but when Deathstroke became a daunting opponent in season 2, I was hooked. Barry Allen entered the CW world helping to create spin offs like The Flash, Legends of Tomorrow and Supergirl. I watched the first couple episodes of Supergirl and quickly lost interest. However, since it’s move to the CW, I decided I wanted to give it another shot. Supergirl is that underrated TV show on the CW that I used to dislike, but I’m slowly learning to enjoy it.

Super Girl.jpg

Supergirl is relatable because we have a female lead on a super hero TV show! Oliver, Barry and Rip Hunter are bad ass characters, but I love that a female hero has her own show. Kara Danvers is an awkward, caring and straight edged. She contemplates about what good versus evil truly means especially when she uncovers her Kryptonian family roots. Another interesting aspect of Supergirl is how the show handles controversial social topics. Xenophobia is brought up often on the show and whether or not aliens belong on Earth. Xenophobia is so real in today’s society and a lot of that hatred did come from our newly elected president.

Alex Danvers.jpg

I Ship Them.

Also can I just bring up the fact that Supergirl brought a lesbian character on TV. Alex Danvers and Maggie are so incredibly adorable together. I didn’t realize they were leading up to her coming out, but hearing her story is refreshing and realistic. Alex Danvers is strong and sophisticated and is a great way to represent LGBTQIA+ individuals. It’s a step in the right direction for representation on our TV screens, but even better if we could have an LGBTQIA+ character as the lead.

Supergirl is lighthearted, action packed and a perfect fit for the CW. I love that little girls can watch this daily and see an awesome superhero. If you haven’t watched any of the DC CW TV shows, you’re really missing out. Start with Arrow and once the Flash is introduced then watch the Flash. Take a break with Supergirl and finally keep tuned with Legends of Tomorrow. Marvel may have their mighty superhero movie blockbusters, but it’s DC that wins the small screens.

 

13 thoughts on “Super Girl

  1. I love Supergirl! It does start off a little rocky but now it’s a favorite because it’s just such fun. I also watch The Flash and Legends but never got around to Arrow since it was so much farther when I decided to check out the shows – maybe I need to go back and watch it too!

    Like

  2. Oh my gosh, I love Supergirl! Normally I don’t go for superhero-themed movies and shows but Supergirl drew me in. I love Alex and Maggie! Maybe I’ll start watching Arrow now…

    Like

Leave a Reply

