When Fitness Motivation Drops

As an Exercise Science major, I realize how important daily exercise is. I pay 7,000 a semester in classes to learn more about how the body benefits from exercise. Yet, I’m human. This summer my fitness goals have been on the back burner and my workouts are inconsistent. This causes a string of unhealthy thoughts running through my head. I have a list of fears including gaining weight and how I won’t be taken seriously as a future personal trainer. This post is really for me to share my thoughts and guilt into not exercising as much as I should.

I know I’m not the only one who feels this way. I think there comes a point in time where every once in a while, you’re motivation for staying active drops. Whether workouts become boring or you’re just plain busy, life gets in the way. It’s hard to not let this get to your head. It’s been getting to mine recently. I do miss the gym! I miss doing a great weight workout and feeling a little sore that next day. I miss having a good cardio session and being covered in sweat *thanks Zumba*. I just haven’t felt the motivation to make it to the gym, and I want to get that back.

Powerpuff Bloggers.jpg

Image by Natalie Patalie

So instead of sitting here and constantly tear myself down, I’m going to try and combat my lack of motivation. For starters, I’m apart of a Facebook group called Powerpuff Bloggers which is a group for fitness & geeky girl bloggers. I want to try and become more involved with this group whether that be to post my workouts or post some recipes I want to try. I also want to use my new workout clothes that I bought from the Gap.

My biggest insecurity is skipping the gym and this cycle of unwanted thoughts popping in my head. These emotions that I’m feeling are what make me human. If you’re looking for a place to feel at home without judgement about fitness check out the Facebook group I linked. I’m beautiful and I need to stop tearing myself apart for skipping the gym. It’s just easier said than done.

17 thoughts on “When Fitness Motivation Drops

  1. Don’t beat yourself up too bad. I know that’s not healthy either 😉 My working out went to crap when the advent of my wedding last month. I don’t go to the gym (cause that doesn’t work for me) and without AC my apartment is WAY too hot for physical activity right now. I’m hoping to get back into a decent routine once the weather cools down.

    Also, working out doesn’t have to equal the gym. Find activities that you enjoy that double as working out -kayaking? hiking? Pokemon Go? 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

