Cat Care

Volunteering is very rewarding. It allows you to donate your time to something you’re passionate about. For me, that’s cats. I grew up with two loving cats. Jasmine is a beautiful calico kitty. She will be 16 years old in August. She has a little arthritis, but overall she’s doing really well. My other cat, Ellie, is a tabby kitty and she’s 10 years old. She’s pretty chubby and she hates women. Every time my female friends come over, she will hiss or bite at them. If it’s a man, she reacts way differently. She also loves to drink out of the faucet in the mornings.

It was my sophomore year of college that I started volunteering at the humane society. I got involved with a roommate of mine. We had an orientation and a tour of the building. We also had three shifts of working with another volunteer. After that, we were on our own. Usually in the summer, I’m at home so I’m unable to volunteer. Since I’m in Winona for the summer, I have been devoting a lot of time to playing with the kitties.

I find this job very rewarding. I follow my humane society on facebook. They often post updates of cats that have been adopted. It always makes me feel giddy inside when I see a picture of a cat I used to play with at the humane society. To find out that they are healthy, happy and in a good home is exciting.

Volunteering doesn’t have to take a lot of time out of your schedule. The humane society requires volunteering at least twice a month. That’s nothing. It’s easy to find time to volunteer because usually I do it on Fridays. There’s nothing better than going to play with cats after a long week. If there is something you’re passionate about, volunteer with that organization! It’s really good experience and it’s rewarding in the long run. Volunteering gives me something to look forward to each and every week. Cats are my best friends and I can’t wait to own my own kitties some day.

Leave a Reply

