Winona County Library

Libraries are the most beautiful buildings. Wednesday I was feeling adventurous and I wanted to study somewhere that wasn’t my room. I decided to take a trip downtown to the county library. I had actually never been to this library before. It surprises me because I have always wanted to go, but I had never gone around to it.

As soon as I arrived, I immediately headed up the stairs and I found a table on the second floor. On the second floor where I sat and studied, there was a huge dome marked with stain glass art. It’s spectacular! I ended up cranking out a lab report for two hours, but the library is super peaceful. I would much rather go to the county library than the campus library. It’s nice to get away from other college students. After I was finished with homework, I wandered through the shelves of old library books.

The bookshelves themselves were pretty crammed but they were very ornate. The library reminded me of a building that could have existed in the 1800’s. I like that they didn’t just tear down the building and instead kept restoring it. It shows that this building has been apart of the history that Winona, MN has to offer.

I have such a huge book backlog right now, but I managed to find some books to check out. I also opened up my Winona county library card. I checked out Doctor No by Ian Fleming. I actually didn’t believe they had Ian Fleming books at the library! Normally, I can’t find James Bond books anywhere but Winona has them! I can’t wait to start reading it. I also checked out Rest in Pieces by Rita Mae Brown. It’s about a woman solving murder mysteries with her cat! How great is that!? Cats are amazing creatures. Finally, I checked out The Fellowship of the Ring by J.R.R Tolkien.

I’m not sure that I will get around to reading three library books before they’re due, but I will definitely take more pictures of the library and upload them when I go back.

Library Card 4.1.15 (2) Library Trip 4.1.15

Leave a Reply

