Horns by Joe Hill

CW: Horns has mentioned sexual assault and violence against women.

The feeling when you finish a book is so satisfying. I finished Horns last week and I got sidetracked but now I have time to actually write a full review on this book. I will be talking about spoilers so if you’re not interested in spoilers and want to read this book, stop reading this post right now!

I became interested in reading this book when I heard about the Daniel Radcliffe movie version coming out during Halloween. I wanted to see it in the theater, but my small town didn’t have it. I looked into this book and added it to my Goodreads list. I found out later that the writer of this book, Joe Hill, is the biological son of Stephen King. That made me more interested in reading it.

This book is about Ig Perrish. It’s a year after the rape and murder of his beloved girlfriend Merrin Williams. He wakes up the morning after her anniversary and discovers he has devil horns protruding from his skull. After discovering this, he realizes he can hear people’s deepest and darkest secrets. An example of this is when Ig visits his doctor regarding the horns, his doctor asks Ig if he should sleep with his daughter’s seventeen-year-old best friend. Ig realizes the amazing gifts his horns bring and he decides to track down who really killed Merrin.

What is so fascinating about this book, is that it didn’t play out like I thought it was going to. I thought the killer would be revealed in the last couple of pages. Instead, the killer is revealed very early on. In a section of the book, we find out more about the killer and how he displayed signs of narcissism and psychopathic tendencies.

This book is a fast read. Usually, I read books right before I go to bed, but this book I was taking with me everywhere and whenever I had any sort of free time, I would read this book because I wanted to know what happens! I felt the writing itself was intelligent and I really liked Ig Perrish as a character.

I would highly recommend this book and I think on Goodreads I gave it three stars! It was really enjoyable but I wouldn’t rank it one of my all-time favorite books. If you’re looking for a mystery with a fantasy aspect to it, this is the perfect book for you!

Leave a comment